Sinking into Shadow

Sinking into Shadow

I saw the maiden’s
Silvery hair, her eyes like
Rubies shone brighter in
The night than the sun
Then I knew the voice
That called so softly
To my soul had taken over
What was never my own
And who am I to deny
The beauty of a perfect
Heavenly paradise to
Those who lie down
To happily die and who
Was I to warn them anyway
I just ran away today
Crying, weeping, and never
Never sleeping as the screams
Of past and future haemorrhage
Inside me, killing me so lovely

9 thoughts on “Sinking into Shadow

  1. I love how open you are with this poem and the blog in general. Mental health is rarely discussed in Muslim communities and it’s great that you’re opening up about it.

Leave a Reply

