If I Knew..

If I Knew…5/24/02
If I knew it would be the last time
That I’d see you fall asleep
I would hug you more tightly
And pray the lord, your soul to keep
If I knew it would be the last time
That I see you walk out the door,
I would give you a hug and kiss
And call you back for one more
If I knew it would be the last time
I could spare an extra minute
To stop and say, “I love you”
Instead of assuming you would know I do
But just in case I might be wrong,
And today is all I get,
I’d like to say how much I love you
And I hope we never forget
Tomorrow is not promised to anyone,
Young or old alike,
And today may be the last chance
I get to hold you tight.

15 thoughts on “If I Knew..

  1. BEAUTIFULLY PENNED!!! Just brought back so much memories of my Late Mummy. These words seem to echo exactly what I had been feeling right after her passing. Stay Blessed, and have a Spiritually Uplifting Ramadan.

  2. Tommorrow is not promised indeed. After a recent family health scare – I appreciate the meaning of honouring the moment, today; and not getting lost in plans for tomorrow

  3. i just gasped! how true! we dont know if what we have today will be ours tomorrow or not! and yet we take things forgranted, we dont hug longer, we dont say nice things!

    Thankyou for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

