Lisa

Lisa
Have you ever realized something that changes everything
A day dream turned way
too real, even to the insane
Sitting in a small restaurant, lost so deep into my own mind
Looking out the window, finally seeing my own reflection
Realizing I have seen the same look thousands of times before
A picture of the Mona Lisa appears in my tainted mind
The face now haunts my deepest thoughts, why her?
Pain and suffering deep inside yet trying to give a smile
No real emotions show in any features that you can see
Yet a hint of a smile, this look I have every day
The look of the broken, beaten, suffering people
Those who believe there might still be a tiny shred of hope
Ones who go through the motions lost so deep inside their minds
Now I have a name for this expressionless look
We have all become a Mona Lisa in our own way

Leave a Reply

