I Pretended Not To Notice

I Pretended Not To Notice

I pretended not to notice the color of his eyes;

Or the way he would glance past me when I caught him looking at me.

I pretended not to notice when his eyes promised me the stars.

I pretended not to notice the joy apparent in his eyes

At the sight of his child asleep next to me.

I pretended not to notice when his eyes noticed someone else.

I pretended not to notice the disappointment

In the eyes looking back at me from my mirror.

I pretended not to notice those eyes filled with tears.

I pretended not to notice…..

Because my soul could take no more.

Leave a Reply

