I Pretended Not To Notice

I Pretended Not To Notice

I pretended not to notice the color
Of his eyes; or the way he would
Glance past me when I caught him
Looking at me.
I pretended not to notice when his eyes
Promised me the stars.
I pretended not to notice the joy
Apparent in his eyes at the sight of
His child asleep next to me.I pretended not to notice when his eyes
Noticed someone else.

I pretended not to notice the
Disappointment in the eyes looking
Back at me from my mirror.

I pretended not to notice those eyes
Filled with tears.

I pretended not to notice…..

Because my
Soul could take no more.

Leave a Reply

