Goodbye and Do Not Cry

Goodbye and Do Not Cry

I wonder why can I not hold on. 

I watch in horror through tear-streaked eyes as wave upon wave crash upon the shore. 

I cry out your name. 

You do not hear me. 

Beautiful and naïve, 

You stride out towards the sunset and the shore.

 Persistent, you do not look back. 

Powerless and small, 

I see the things that once were washed away, 

Leaving behind the hideous forms of that pretentious masquerade called life. 

I do not know when you left, 

You are gone. 

Though my tears, 

I watch the inevitable. 

Tears, idle tears are my only company in the void of the ringing night. 

Goodbye love. 

Why do I cry?

Leave a Reply

