I remember
The pillow smashing
My face
I don’t remember
The sweet caress
Of love
I remember
The pain
I don’t remember
The hospital stay
I remember
Fear of sleeping
Of being weak
I don’t remember
                                                                   Silence       
I remember
Noise
Heavy in though the air
I don’t remember
Being safe!
What is safe?
I remember
Mistrust
I don’t remember
Trust
I remember
The lock jiggling in the
Door
As he tries his key
I don’t remember
Calling the police
I remember
The door trembling
As he kicked it
I don’t remember
Calm
I remember
Fear
The hatred in his eyes
I don’t remember
Thanking the police
I remember
His last lie
“I love you! I never hurt you!”
I don’t remember
His last truth
I don’t remember
How long the police were there
Standing like towers of blue safety
Forming a wall
Between a monster
Of hate and lies
And I trembling
White as a lotus
I remember
The stillness after the police left
I don’t remember
The time
I couldn’t find the clock
I remember
The coldness
The fear
Panic and crying
I don’t remember
Sleeping
I remember
Dawn bright cold
Twittering birds
I don’t remember
Dressing
I remember
The doctor’s visit
I don’t remember
The trip home
I remember
Sweet children’s voices
I don’t remember
Dinner
I remember
Sweet sleeping children
I don’t remember
Silence
I do remember
I am human
And
Deserve respect
I don’t remember
Crying
I do remember
Feeling relief
 
Leave a Reply

