ME AND MY HIJAB

img_2934

ME AND MY HIJAB
You are so sadly understood
You draw so much attention to yourself
You have comforted me
As simple as you are,
You brought greatness with you.
You make me look different,
Cause me to stand out in a crowd
BUT YOU DO!
And for this I thank you.
You guard my modesty,
You make me unique
You make me lose my vanity,
And instill my humility.
You enjoin on me good
You help me to be strong
You cause me to defy convention
You make others think that for some reason
I have something to proclaim
You make me search for something
Deeper than fortune and fame
You keep my life in constant
In times of uncertainty and change.
You help me to believe
You open my eyes to the lies and deceit.
You teach me to be kind,
And never to cheat.
You soar in the wind with an elegance and charm
You say to the people, “This lady is a flag-bearer of Islam”
You tell me to pray
Wherever I may be.
You fill me with confidence,
You set me free
You make some people smile,
While you fill others with contempt.
You help me to know who is a true friend
You keep me in the company
Of those who truly repent.
You are my shield as I walk
Through the battlefield of life.
You protect me from evil and save me from strife
You identify my inner beauty for everyone to see
You say, “She’s got a lot of character to be seen with me”
You shelter me from the burning sun.
You save me from the cursed one
You protect me from those in whose hearts there is a disease
You continue to dignify my life with bounties like these
You are a faithful companion wherever I go.
You speak of a place with gardens underneath which rivers flow
Yes, you are just a simple piece of cloth which I wear everyday,
But you represent more good in my life
Than I have ink to say!
Leave a Reply

