Rent Money

You promised me life
You promised me the world
I wonder if you promised that
To the other millions of girls.
You promised me you’d never
Leave or cheat or lie
Did you promise them that as
You kissed them good-bye?
You promised me a ring and longevity,
Remember you promised me
That while watching Jeopardy?
You promised when you
Stole my heart you’d never
Throw it away,
How could you promise
Me such a thing and then
Leave me on my birthday?
You played with my
Heart like it was a
Docile piece of clay.
Leave a Reply

