poem of healing 3/3/2005

I remember
The pillow smashing
My face

I don’t remember
The sweet caress
Of love

I remember
The pain

I don’t remember
The hospital stay

I remember
Fear of sleep
Of being weak

I don’t remember
Silence

I remember
Noise
Heavy through the air

I don’t remember
Being safe
What is safe?

I remember
Mistrust
I don’t remember
Trust

I remember
The lock jiggling in the door
As he tries his key

I don’t remember
Calling the police

I remember
The door trembling
As he kicks it

I don’t remember
The calm

I remember
Fear
The hatred in
His eyes
I don’t remember
Thanking the police

I remember
His last lie
I love you!
I never hurt you!

I don’t remember
His last truth

I don’t remember
How long the police were there
Like a wall of true blue
Shielding me from a monster
I as white as a lotus
I remember

The stillness after
The police left

I don’t remember
The time
I couldn’t find the clock
I remember

The coldness
The fear, panic and crying

I don’t remember
Sleeping
I remember
Dawn, bright and cold
Twittering birds
I don’t remember
Dressing

I remember
The doctor’s visit
The pain

I don’t remember
The trip home

I remember
Sweet children’s
Voices

I don’t remember
Dinner
I remember
Sweet sleeping children
I don’t remember
Silence

I do remember
That I am human
And
Deserve respect

I don’t remember
Crying
I do remember
Feeling relief.

I wrote this poem in 2005 about domestic violence , it happened to me and this was my way to heal from it.

One thought on “poem of healing 3/3/2005

Leave a Reply

